Indian Institute of Technology Goa began its academic operations from 1st August, 2016. At present it offers B.Tech programmes in Computer Science, Electrical Engineering and Mechanical Engineering. IIT Goa was inaugurated on 30th July, 2016 in the presence of Hon'ble Defence Minister Shri Manohar Parrikar, Hon'ble HRD Minister Shri. Prakash Javadekar, Hon'ble CM of Goa Shri. Laxmikant Parsekar, Hon'ble Dy. CM of Goa Shri Francis D'Souza, Hon'ble MP(South Goa) Shri Narendra Sawaikar, Hon'ble PWD Minister Shri Sudin Dhavalikar, Prof. Devang Khakhar, Director IITB, Prof. Shiva Prasad, professor in-charge of Mentoring Cell, IITB, Shri Virendra Kumar, Chairman Secretary (Education) Goa