भारतीय प्रौद्योगिकी संस्थान गोवा

Awards & Recognition


  1. Prof. B.K. Mishra Director IIT Goa, has been conferred The Institution of Engineers (India) Eminent Engineer Award 2020. The award was presented to him by the Chairman, IEI, Goa State Center & Honorary Secretary IEI , Goa State Centre on behalf of IEI, Durgapur Chapter.
  2. Prof. Bidyadhar Subudhi, School of Electrical Sciences (SES) is invited to serve as an Associate Editor of the IEEE Access for three years.
  3. IEEE Potentials, with which Dr. Sharad Sinha, CSE DEPT., is associated as the Editor-in-Chief (2020-2021), has won two Awards of Excellence (in Magazines and Illustration-Design categories) in the 2020 APEX Awards for Publication Excellence: https://www.apexawards.com/
  4. Prof. B. K. Mishra, received the Distinguished Alumnus Award from NIT Rourkela
  5. Dr. Sharad Sinha, Asst. Prof., CSE appointed as Editor-in-Chief of IEEE Potentials for 2020.


  1. Prof. Bidyadhar Subudhi, School of Electrical Sciences (SES) has been elected as a Fellow of Indian National Academy of Engineering (INAE).
  2. Dr. Sandip Haldar of Mechanical Engineering Department has been awarded the prestigious Ramanujan Fellowship of the DST.
  3. IIT Goa will host Mr. Parshu Ram Dhungyel, Associate Lecturer, College of Science and Technology, Royal University of Bhutan under the India Science and Research Fellowship (ISRF) 2019. His application was endorsed and supported by Dr. Sharad Sinha, Asst. Prof. Dept. of CSE, IIT Goa who will act as the advisor for research training under ISRF 2019.
  4. Dr. Sharad Sinha and Dr. Clint P George, Computer Science and Engineering, receive ACM SIGAI Grant to conduct workshop on Artificial Intelligence. The workshop will be conducted in August 2019. ACM SIGAI is the ACM Special Interest Group on Artificial Intelligence.
  5. IIT Goa wins Defence India Startup Challenge : A team of Dr. Arindam Das, Assistant Professor and Dr. Shakthi Prasad D, Assistant Professor guided by Prof. B K Mishra, Director and Professor of Mechanical Engineering has won the 'Defence India Startup Challenge (DISC-1) launched under iDEX initiative of Govt. of India.
  6. Dr. Sharad Sinha, Asst. Prof. of CSE, has been awarded the DST-INRIA-CNRS Joint Research Grant 2018-2019. The project is in collaboration with INRIA (https://www.inria.fr/en/), the French national research institute for digital sciences. Prof. Olivier Sentieys (http://people.rennes.inria.fr/Olivier.Sentieys/) is the French Principal Investigator in this project. The project will run for three years under the joint IIT Goa and INRIA Associate Team "IntelliVIS" that is established as a result of the grant.
  7. Professor BK Mishra, Director of IIT Goa, has been nominated for three years to the Governing Council of the Indian National Academy of Engineering (INAE). Prof. Mishra will serve as the representative of DST, Ministry of Science and Technology, Govt. of India in the Governing Council. INAE functions as the national apex engineering academy covering the entire spectrum of engineering disciplines.
  8. Dr. Sharad Sinha of CSE has recently received an Amazon AWS Educate Grant from Amazon.His grant will enable faculty and students of IIT Goa to benefit from this grant in the following manner:
    The grant is worth US$65,000 annually and will be provided in-kind as Amazon Web Services (AWS) service credits to our faculty and students to use Amazon's Cloud Computing Infrastructure for modeling, simulation, robotics, internet of things, big data analytics etc. research and teaching exercises across all disciplines. Each faculty member will be entitled to US$200 worth of time on Amazon's Cloud Computing Infrastructure and the entitlement of each student is US$100.
  9. The research work of Dr. Bidhan Pramanick (EE) and his coauthors (published in Nature Microsystems and Nano engineering) in December 2018 has been highlighted by The Hindu on 5 January. This research article was also the Editor's pick and was displayed in the journal home page.
    Link of the coverage by The Hindu: click
    Link to the article: click


  1. A paper entitled 'Single-shot large field of view imaging with scattering media by spatial demultiplexing' by Dr. Sujit Kumar Sahoo of our School of Electrical Sciences, with his co-authors, recently published in Applied Optics', has been designated as 'Editors' Pick by the journal.
  2. Prof. Somenath Biswas from the School of Mathematics and Computer Science will be honored by IIT Kanpur as an Institute Fellow during its Diamond Jubilee Celebration to be held on November 2, 2018.
  3. Dr. Sudhakar Yogaraj, Asst Professor (Mechanical Engineering) has received the prestigious Ramanujan Fellowship from Science and Engineering Research Board (SERB) of Dept. of Science and Technology. The fellowship runs for five (5) years and allows Prof. Sudhakar to work on his project titled "A multiscale modeling framework for fluid-poroelastic structure interaction".
  4. Dr. Sharad Sinha, Asst. Professor (Computer Science and Engineering) has received a Best Paper Award Nomination at the ACM/IEEE International Conference on Compilers, Architecture and Synthesis for Embedded Systems (CASES 2018) to be held in Torino, Italy, Sept. 30 - Oct. 5, 2018. His paper is related to dynamic memory management in High Level Synthesis, which is a framework for rapid design of digital hardware. This work was done together with his collaborator at the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (HKUST)
  5. Prof. T.S. Rathore, School of Electrical Sciences, IIT Goa has been awarded for the Best Paper published in Institutions of Electronics and Telecommunication Engineers (IETE) journal - 2017" on 30th September 2018 during 61st IETE Annual Technical Convention, Amravati.